Nominations open for 2018 Hall of Fame

Spirit of Atlanta is excited to announce that nominations are now open to select the class of 2018 for the Spirit of Atlanta Hall of Fame!   The Hall of Fame Committee, chaired by Ross Iddings, will oversee the process of nominations through the selection of finalists to the final voting.  Open nominations will be accepted until December 31st, with the finalists and final voting to begin in February of 2018.  The tentative date for the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is Saturday May 19, 2018.

Anyone may submit a person for consideration for the Hall of Fame using our online nomination form.  The criteria for the Hall is simple:  anyone whose contributions to Spirit of Atlanta should be remembered forever as vital to the organization’s success.   Nominees could come from the ranks of marching members, staff and instructors, volunteers, support personnel, or anyone who left an indelible mark by their efforts.   Once nominations are received, they will be posted publicly on our website to allow for public discussion and commentary.   After the nomination deadline, the committee will then vote to select a group of finalists for the year’s Hall of Fame Class.  Final voting will occur by eligible voters to determine the inductees for the year.

Current members of the Spirit of Atlanta Hall of Fame include founder Freddy Martin, long-time supporter Lynda Martin, and the first full class inducted in 2017 including Jim Ott, Mike Morris, Mike Back, and Margaret Collins.  We are excited to build on our legacy with the addition of a new class of honorees in 2018.

If you would like to know more about the Hall of Fame, including more details on the selection process, read our Frequently Asked Questions.   We are also actively seeking alumni of the corps to join the committee to ensure an equitable representation of all eras.  You may direct inquiries about committee service or any other questions to